Surgoinsville Utilities PDF Print E-mail

The Holston Electric Cooperative, located in Rogersville with electricity provided by the Tennessee Valley Authority, serves the electrical needs of Hawkins County. Incentives are available for new and expanding industries that meet certain demand criteria. For more information, visit Holston Electric's website or call 423-272-8821.


The Natural Gas Utility District of Hawkins County, located in Rogersville, with natural gas from the East Tennessee Pipeline serves the county's natural gas needs. For more information, visit the Hawkins Gas Utility District website or call: Rogersville 423-272-8841 Church Hill 423-357-8585



Surgoinsville Utility District
1724 Main Street
P.O. Box 325
Surgoinsville, TN 37873
Phone:  423-345-3187


Rita Dykes, General Manager
Michael Barton, Water Treatment and Distribution Head Operator
Scott Shriner, Water Distribution Operator
Sam Copeland, Clerk/Assistant

Board Members: Lynn Norris, Chairman
Wayne Haun, Vice-Chairman
Don Thurman - Sec-Teas.


Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Closed on weekends and Holidays

Board meets second Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m.
After Hours Emergency Phone Numbers:  423-367-6737, 423-677-0981 or 293-9721
Residential 3/4" water meter tap fees - $500.00
3/4" meter service charge for water service - $25.00
Call to get prices for larger meters.
Water Rates
0 - 1000 gals - $8.50 minimum bill
1000 - 20, 000 gals - 5.00 per thousand
over 20, 000 gals - 4.50 per thousand


Town Administrators

  • Mayor            Merrell Graham

  • Vice-Mayor   Bobby Jarnagin

  • Alderman      Pleas Bass

  • Alderman      Dale Byington

  • Alderman      Dennis Anderson

  • Alderman      Tim Hoss

  • Alderman      John Sandidge

  • City Recorder  Pamela Mullins
    Town Clerk  Shirley Fields

Quick Menu